Chip Quik


Development cost is not cheap, especially for hobby. Since buying chips by piece is not cheap I always wanted a to find a cheap and simple solution to recover the chips I use in my development boards, especially the big and expensive ones.

I know that using a rework station with hot air will make things easier, however, my budget is pretty low to justify a good one and there are so many posts complaining about the cheap ones available on ebay.

Only two days ago, looking for something on youtube I saw this cool video about the Chip Quik, a miracle solution that allow you to unsolder any IC from any board with a simple soldering iron!!! Of course I was a bit sceptical about it but counting the number of LPC1679, LPC1343 AL422 I wasted on some development boards make me reconsider and I decided to bite the bullet.

To cut it short: I bought a “kit” from Farnell and give it a try and worked like a charm! Only difference is that if you do it right u just need a bit of alloy. I managed to remove two LPC1769 (100 pins), one LPC1343 (48 pins), three AL422 and a couple of EEPROMs with less than 5mm of the alloy wire :-)  Is damn cool, I love it!!!

2 thoughts on “Chip Quik

  1. What’s Happening i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely useful and it has aided me out loads. I’m hoping to give a contribution & aid other users like its aided me.

    Great job.

Leave a Reply

